What I’m reading now – better sooner than later.

August 2, 2010 § 3 Comments

Image credit: http://www.tempe.gov/LIBRARY/events/images/books.jpg

I know it has not been long since my last reading post, but I thought I’d throw a couple of updates out there for good measure. Besides, the original intention had been to log one of these posts at the beginning of each month, and although I have failed up to this point, my blogging conscience still tells me it is good to keep the random goals you set for yourself.

I haven’t made tons of progress since my latest update, so I won’t bother with a lengthy list of books. Just assume that all not mentioned remain in their same read or abandoned state.

I finished “House of the Lotus” by Madeleine L’engle which is the second in the “Arm of the Starfish” series. As I said before – good, fairly light fiction. I found the first in the series to be more adventurous, while the second developed and explored one particular character, Polly O’Keefe. I sort of kept waiting for the second to pick up the pace and imitate the first, but it maintained its analytical tone and pace.

I also started and finished a Dorothy Sayers’ mystery I received from my mom for my birthday – “The Nine Tailors.” A 300 page novel set in England and centered around small towns and cathedral bell towers – theft, murder, and inclement weather? COUNT ME IN. I have now borrowed the BBC version of this from friends (and must say the main character, Lord Peter Whimsey, is disappointingly cast – at least his appearance is the opposite of what I had pictured).  If you have not read any of Sayers’ Lord Peter Whimsey series, I highly recommend them. “Gaudy Night” is another novel-length mystery, which, being set in Oxford, is a particular joy for anyone who has spent any time there. She also did a number of shorter stories, the anthologies of which can be found by searching “Lord Peter Whimsey” or “Dorothy Sayers” in your local library catalog.

I am now starting into “The Complete Sherlock Holmes” – a large leather bound book which will be due back to the library long before I have had time to finish it, especially since I also checked out Agatha Christie’s “Miss Marple” series and will be juggling them in my post-work reading hours. What a life I lead.

Until next time…

§ 3 Responses to What I’m reading now – better sooner than later.

  • Ga says:

    Dear R. Jane,
    You are indeed a fast reader! I am so glad that you are already on a solid speaking acquaintance with Madeleine L’Engle and Dorothy Sayers. Your great-grandmother liked tham too!!! Especially mysteries and “moiders” I think of you and Alex so often.
    Best love, Ga

  • Rachel says:

    You have a ‘blogging conscience?’ That is very exciting.

  • Rondi Lauterbach says:

    Never worry about finishing a Sherlock Holmes anthology. It is always good to have more first reads in your future. It would be worse to run out! Check out the latest Poirot series on PBS…if you get the chance. love, momsi

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I’m reading now – better sooner than later. at life with jane is not plain.

meta

