A picnic, indeed.

March 18, 2010 § 3 Comments

Image Credit: kirstinhanssen.wordpress.com/2009/04/

In the past two or so weeks, I have had the following phrase go through my head multiple times :

“I could eat this every day for the rest of my life.”

Anyone who knows me knows that this kind of contentment spoken about food is rare.  I never want to eat the same thing twice in a weeks period.  I get bored quickly, and sometimes would rather be hungry then eat that plain sandwich that stares me in the face day in and day out when I take my lunch out of the fridge at work. (This became true enough that I switched to salads, which more easily offer opportunity for variety and creativity).  When I make dinner I rarely like making the exact same thing twice – always throw in a couple different spices, a different type of pasta, dice up some onion or garlic or pepper, etc.  To me the fun in food is the discovery of some new mixture of flavors and variations of texture that make a dish yummy.

Anyways, the funny thing is that each of these dishes (that I vowed I could eat every day for the rest of my life) were sort-of simple.  They called for no recipes and no extra spices. None of them were fancy dinner dishes, either, all breakfast or lunch. Also, none of them were desserts which is surprising considering my giddiness over all things sugar. They included:

-peanut butter granola with plain yogurt

-oatmeal with raisins and bananas and walnuts

-a Ciabatta grilled sandwich wit prosciutto, pesto, havarti and ham

-an egg with salt and pepper, buttered toast

-Mango

What about you guys? Any foods you think you could eat (or do eat) every day (for the rest of your lives)??

§ 3 Responses to A picnic, indeed.

  • Morielle says:

    Oh, Jane, this is so you. Me on the other hand? When I was in third grade, I made a smashed turkey sandwich on whole wheat bread every single freaking day for lunch. And I loved it. Haha…sometimes I still feel like that same person.

  • Madelyn says:

    Peanut butter granola and yogurt sounds delicious. I myself have been making egg beaters with mushrooms and toast like every day for probably the last 5 months, and I look forward to it every day.

  • mrs.freeman says:

    brown rice with braggs amino acid seasoning ( instead of soy sauce ) a big green salad ( with feta cheese, roasted/unsalted sunflower seeds, grape tomatoes and cilantro lime dressing-its lowfat at trader joes! )and rotisserie chicken… first meal i made as a wife.. and was ecsatic!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A picnic, indeed. at life with jane is not plain.

meta

