Recently…

November 5, 2009 § 3 Comments

Alex and I have been keeping busy.  We thought we had finished our apartment decorating and then I decided to paint a deer on the wall.  We thought we were all done with big events and then we decided to host a Halloween party (pictures coming soon). Alex has finished chapter two for his research assistant assignment, and is now moving on to chapter three.  What can we say — we have realized that we both like projects.

Now, I am sitting on my couch (while he is off at meetings), trying to ignore the loud helicopter obviously searching our apartment complex and hoping that whatever it might be searching for is found before I have to go change our laundry. Scary.

Anyways, here are a few photos of recently made meals*/other sundry things:

First up. Sausage and white beans with carrots and spinach and breadcrumbs, via Real Simple, for the occasion of Alex’s birthday eve.

Next – Oatmeal Hazelnut chocolate chip cookies with mugs of mulled cider. And…the Nightmare Before Christmas (which took 3 years to shoot, and each second has 27 frames of posed puppet action, and Jack (the main character) has 400 different faces that attach to his body for his different expressions and vowels. And 3 different eyes that insert to make him blink (I watched the making of the movie – this is what college grads do with their spare time?)).

Number 3. Brown Rice, Roasted Vegetables (including Butternut Squash and Onions), and Chicken cooked in apple cider.

*Note: I have now realized that taking pictures of food that look somewhat appetizing is a skill I do not have. I’m sorry. Please imagine that it tasted better than it looks.

And…a sneak preview. You can’t tell from these costumes, but this was our Halloween party (and the man in this picture is not Alex…um, just in case you couldn’t tell).


Upcoming events/projects —

-I take the practice GRE this Saturday.  Just for practice.  No really, I have no idea if I want to go to Grad school yet.

-I bought file folders and labels to clean up our paperwork. Exciting, huh?

-Alex and I have our first attempt at exercising before work…tomorrow. Wish us luck. This involves a 5:45 a.m. wake up call, a quick cup of coffee, packing breakfast, and diving into a (hopefully) warm(ish) pool. We call this adventure.

-Go get the laundry from the dryer. The helicopter is gone. Hopefully the crime scene has been cleaned up as well.

§ 3 Responses to Recently…

  • Rondi Lauterbach says:

    Good luck with your early morning swim. Today I convinced Dad to get up at 5 and take a spin class with me at 6. You are living our dream…

  • Morielle says:

    yeah, I’m not going to lie…I as I started to read this post and look at the pictures which you posted I found myself thinking “man, I’m sure Jane’s meals were delicious but she sure chose recipes that look gross…!” please take that in the most loving and Jane-adoring way possible. 🙂

  • cannot wait for a new post!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recently… at life with jane is not plain.

meta

